Thursday, January 15, 2009


It is very difficult to give a short description about Neervilakom Ayyappa Temple and I'm not enough to describe about this temple. But I think this blog will be hepful to all ayyappa devotees and the intention is to give a picture about this temple to the devotees from Tamil Nadu & Karnataka who arrives at Chengannur at the time of sabarimala pilgrimage. As chengannur is the destination place for those sabarimala pilgrims those arriving by train, this is the first ayyappa temple on the way to Sabarimala from the destination place. It will be nice to start your journey from chengannur by taking a bath at the holy Pampa river, having your prayers at Mahadeva kshethram and then have a visit at this temple which is in one of the most beautiful villages in Kerala. As this temple and village is away from township the atmosphere there is very calm and quiet and feel the beauty of nature where the god has shown his artistic ability.

NEERVILAKOM SREE AYYAPPA TEMPLE is one among the most prominent ayyappa temples in kerala. This temple is located, 5 kms away from Chengannur Mahadeva temple & 7 kms away from Aranmula Parthasarathy temple.
The main festival celebrated is ‘UTHRAM MAHOLSAVAM’; annually during March/April. 11 days of festival starts with KODIYETTAM followed by many cultural & traditional programs in subsequent days. The main attraction of this festival is ‘KAAVADIYATTAM, PALLIVILAKKU, PALLIVETTA & AARATTU’.
The second main festival is SREE BHAGAVATHA SAPTHAHA YAGNAM, during Jan/Feb. This includes detail description of Bhagavatham followed by religious speeches, cultural & traditional programs. 7 days of festival ends with AARATTULSAVAM.

SREE BHAGAVATH GEETHA JNANA YAJNAM is another important festival in this temple. The geetha jnanan yajnam is conducted in the first week of May.
PANTHIRUNNAZHI is the main VAZHIPADU of this temple .
During Mandala kaalam "VILAKKUKOLUTHU" is conducted for 41 days in the temple.

Melshanthi of Neervilakom Ayyappa temple . Shri Reghupathy thirumeni.

Saturday, January 10, 2009

Governing body.

The Neervilakom Ayyappa Temple is governed by an elected group from the 1741 NSS karayogam members residing in Neervilakom. The karayogam committe is the authorized body which is responsible for looking the day to affairs of the temple. The current Karayogam committe is headed by

Mr.T.R. Vasudevan Pillai

Mr. M.P Gopakumar Nair

Mr. A.N. Vijayakumar

Taluk Union Representative
Mr. A.V. Govindankutti Nair

Electroral role member
Mr. M.K. Venugopal

Committe Members

Mr. K.N. Radhakrishnan Nair
Mr. Ravindran Nair
Mr. K.P. Radhakrishnan Nair
Mr. P.K. Muralimanohar
Mr. Ajikumar
Mr. M.N. Sasidharan Pillai